Salute to Design & Construction

The members of the design and construction industry are gearing up for the Annual Salute to Design and Construction.  The first Salute was held in 1985 as one of twelve “Salutes” to various aspects of Springfield’s community (others included Healthcare, Military, Agriculture and Government along seven others) sponsored by the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce. In 1988, the Salute Council took over the planning and implementation of the Salute to Design & Construction and it has continued to evolve over the years.  We strongly encourage you to participate in as many events as you can.

Career Days
Teams of speakers will visit area schools to talk about careers in construction year-round.  If you can spend an hour discussing your career with eager young people, use the form to indicate your preferences.  To volunteer or for more information, contact Megan at 862-1313 or

2017 Salute to Design & Construction Awards Banquet

Salute to Design & Construction Awards Banquet
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Oasis Convention Center
Social Hour at 5 p.m. | Dinner at 6:30 p.m. | Program at 7 p.m.

2017 Award Winners

2017 AIA Craftsman of the Year:
Eric Henderson, Performance Contracting, Inc.
Project: Bass Pro Wonders of Wildlife

2017 AIA Superintendent of the Year:
Jerel Twitchell, Branco Enterprises
Project: New Neosho Junior High

2017 Lifetime Achievement Awards
Charles Hill
George Innes
Joe Jenkins
Hershel Johns
Tim Smith

2017 NAWIC Vesta Award: Melissa Payne, Miller Engineering

2017 SCA Design Team of the Year
Project: O’Reilly – Ransin Office Building
Buxton Kubik Dodd & Design Collective – Architecture, Interior Design, MEP Engineer
Miller Engineering, P.C. – Structural Engineer
Lee Engineering & Associates, LLC – Civil Engineer
Tim O’Reilly & David Ransin – Owners
Q & Company – Construction Manager

2017 SCA Developer of the Year:
John L. Morris, Wonders of Wildlife National Museum & Aquiarium

2017 Table Sponsorship
People’s Choice Award: Nixon & Lindstrom

Design Team of the Year

Developer of the Year

Peoples Choice Award: Nixon Lindstrom